top of page
  • Writer's pictureRL Bartlett

7 fun facts about me

For my first blog post, I thought I’d introduce myself with a list of facts about me. These facts range from large parts of my life to cute little tidbits about my interests.


1. I have two bonus children, who are both first graders

I call them my bonus children and myself their bonus mom because I like the terms better than step-children or step-mom, and because I’m not legally married to their father. They are irish twins, which means they were born less than a year apart. In our case, the girl was born eleven months before the boy. My partner and I have them one long weekend each month and more often during the summer and winter holidays.


2. My favorite color is purple

I named my first poetry chapbook Amethyst after my love of the color purple and pretty rocks. I have also dyed my hair purple, and the only nail polish I own is purple. It’s just a good color.


3. I have multiple chronic health conditions

I am a disabled writer, which means that while I struggle with a lot of the same obstacles able-bodied writers do, I also struggle with fatigue, pain when sitting in the same position too long, and migraines which makes it difficult to focus.


4. I have a dog named after Carrie Fisher

I cannot take credit for the nerdiness, but my husky-lab mix is named after Princess Leia’s actress, Carrie Fisher. We adopted Carrie about six months after the actress died, and she was one of my partner’s heros, so he wanted to name our dog after her.


5. My favorite hobby besides writing is playing board games

I love classic board games like Monopoly and Clue, but I also enjoy newer board games like Splendor and Lords of Waterdeep. One of my favorite things to do is to bring Sushi Go Party to my brother’s house and play it with his youngest daughters.


6. I have two siblings and five nieces

I have an older brother and an older sister. My brother is twelve years older than I am and has four daughters, and my sister is fifteen years older than I am and has one daughter. I have no nephews. My nieces range in age from six to 23.


7. At one point, Harry Potter was my biggest obsession

In middle and high school, I adored Harry Potter. I wrote fanfiction. I went to the midnight premieres of the books (thank you to my sister for taking me). I collected memorabilia. I still like Harry Potter, but my interest in it has started to wane as I’ve gotten older and I’ve gotten other interests.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page